At the exit of La Tour d'Auvergne, in the direction of Besse, 400 m. around the Ste-Elisabeth waterfall, we discover this other waterfall in the middle of the meadows where La Burande spreads out.

On video !

According to oral tradition, it was following an accident that this name was given to this waterfall on the Burande.

When did it occur? Mystery ! One fair day in the town, a horse dealer had come from Besse to buy animals. Our merchant did very good business that day. In addition to his own horse, he entrusted the innkeeper with five vigorous beasts bought on the fairground. As the evening fell, gray and gloomy, laden with a thick fog, the man tied the horses he had bought to the halter of his mount, he got into the saddle and plunged into an inky night. The sound of the rumbling waters of the waterfall would guide him, he believed. But he missed the ford, pushed his horse, quickly submerged and dragged by a furious current; with him, the other unfortunate animals who had not been able to break their halters.

Cool off at the Gour des Cheval waterfall at the Tour d'Auvergne

And also the man, of course… Swimming was useless. The rushing waters dragged master and horses, which crashed on the rocks of the waterfall before being carried further downstream. The following August, when the waters of the river were at their lowest, a little herdsman who was fishing trout by hand under the big stones suddenly gave the alert. Terrified, he had just seen a human body trapped under branches, near the shore. The farmer from La Chauderie discovered here and there the bodies of the six horses.

Thus we learned of the sad end of the horse-dealer and his animals. The fatal ford passed a few meters above the waterfall. So he was given the name of Gour des Chevaux (gour = abyss) and it stuck with him.
Documentary source: Millefouilles.

horse-loving child
David Gonthier

The river crosses a large rock and forms two basins describing a large capital S.

Two other waterfalls are also visible at The Tower of Auvergne : The Saint Elisabeth waterfall and the waterfall of the stone bridge.  

ACCESS TO THE GOUR DES HORSE WATERFALL

Take the RD 203 at the exit of La Tour d'Auvergne towards Besse, take the path on the left after the La Chauderie campsite.

Loading
Loading

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

A la sortie de La Tour d’Auvergne, en direction de Besse, à 400 m. environ de la cascade Ste-Elisabeth, on découvre cette autre cascade au milieu des prairies où s’étale La Burande.

En vidéo !

D'après la tradition orale, c'est à la suite d'un accident que l'on a donné ce nom à cette cascade sur la Burande.

A quelle époque est-il survenu ? Mystère ! Un jour de foire au bourg, un marchand de chevaux était venu de Besse pour acheter des bêtes. Notre marchand fit ce jour-là de très bonnes affaires. En plus de son propre cheval, il confia à l’aubergiste cinq bêtes vigoureuses achetées sur le foirail. Au soir tombant, gris et lugubre, chargé d’un épais brouillard, l’homme attacha les chevaux qu’il avait achetés au licol de sa monture, il se mit en selle et s’enfonça dans une nuit d’encre. Le bruit des eaux grondantes de la cascade le guiderait croyait-il. Mais il manqua le gué, poussa son cheval vite submergé et entraîné par un courant en furie; avec lui, les autres malheureuses bêtes qui n’avaient pu rompre leur licol.

Se rafraîchir à la cascade du Gour des chevaux à la Tour d'Auvergne

Et aussi l’homme, bien sûr… Nager ne servait à rien. Les eaux impétueuses entraînèrent maître et chevaux qui se fracassèrent sur les rochers de la cascade avant d’être emportés plus loin en aval. Au mois d’Août suivant, alors que les eaux de la rivière étaient au plus bas, un petit pâtre qui pêchait des truites à la main sous les grosses pierres donna soudain l’alerte. Epouvanté, il venait d’apercevoir un corps humain coincé sous des branchages, près de la rive. Le fermier de la Chauderie découvrit ici et là les cadavres des six chevaux.

Ainsi apprit-on la triste fin du maquignon et de ses bêtes. Le gué fatal passait à quelques mètres au-dessus de la cascade. Alors on lui donna le nom de Gour des Chevaux (gour = gouffre) et il lui est resté.
Source documentaire : Millefouilles.

enfant au gour des chevaux
David GONTHIER

La rivière franchit un gros rocher et forme deux bassins décrivant un grand S majuscule.

Deux autres cascades sont également visibles à La Tour d’Auvergne : La cascade Ste Elisabeth et la cascade du Pont de la pierre.  

ACCES A LA CASCADE DU GOUR DES CHEVAU

Prendre la RD 203 à la sortie de La Tour d’Auvergne en direction de Besse, prendre le chemin à gauche après le camping La Chauderie.

Chargement en cours
Chargement en cours

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu